Defending Barclays Cup champions Green Buffaloes renew acquaintances with Power Dynamos after they were drawn together in the quarterfinals of this years edition.

Buffaloes eliminated Power 5-3 on post-match penalties after a 0-0 draw at the same stage last year on their way to lifting their debut Barclays Cup title.

Zanaco and Kabwe Warriors who have both never won the Barclays Cup will meet in a Midlands derby last eight match.

But Zanaco hold the record for number of Barclays Cup appearance as their embark for the elusive title on the tenth successive attempt.

Meanwhile, the competition has been expanded from eight to ten teams to accommodate the restructured four promotion zones in the second tier.

It means four instead of two team’s will take part from the promotion zones.

Nampumdwe, Kabwe Football Academy and Zesco Victoria Falls FC will all make their Barclays Cup debuts while 2011 runners-up Konkola Blades complete the roll.

The four will all play in a first round doubleheader on September 11 with the winners joining the elite six sides who all enjoy byes from the preliminaries.

Winner of the KCM derby involving Nampundwe and Konkola will face record-four time champions Zesco United in the quarterfinals that will be played on September 17 and 18.

However, that quarterfinal fixture is postponed due to Zesco’s 2016 CAF Champions League semifinal date during that same weekend.

Nkana will await victor of the Victoria Falls and Kabwe Academy tie.

The first round matches will be played at Sunset Stadium in Lusaka on September 11, the quarterfinals will follow a week later up the road in Chelstone at Nkoloma Stadium.

The semifianls will follow at Arthur Davies Stadium in Kitwe on October 10 while the final date set for Nkoloma will be announced later by FAZ.

[Read 44 times, 1 reads today]