Zesco United have refused to blame their Barclays Cup exit on the absence of their three major players.

The record four-time winners failed to defend the Barclays Cup after losing 1-0 to Green Buffaloes in the semifinals at Nkoloma Stadium in Lusaka on Sunday.

Missing from Zesco’s lineup was goalkeeper Jacob Banda, defender Dauti Musekwa and striker Wintson Kalengo who has scored 16 league goals and is favourite for the 2015 golden boot.

The trio was away in Abu Dhabi on Zambia duty to play a friendly against Egypt on the same date that Chipolopolo lost 3-0.

“We missed them and the coach as well but but that is life. But those that were there did their duty for the club,” Zesco assistant coach Tennant Chembo said. who was also standing in for George Lwandamina who was at tge helm of Zambia in the UAE over the weekend.

“It is just a minor setback and we have to regroup. We believe and trust in the boys they have a strong mentality. I think we will rise to occasion in the remaining three games in the league despite failing to defend the Barclays.”

Zesco have at least got the league title mathematically in the bag on 63 points and cannot be overhauled by second place Zanaco thanks to the formers superior goal difference with three matches to spare.

2015 Barclays Cup Semifinals
-Nkoloma Stadium, Lusaka

Zesco United 0-Green Buffaloes 1(Sebastian Mwansa 14′)

Zanaco 1(Moses Phiri 17′)-Nkwazi 1(Chipungu Musukuma 23′)*
Nkwazi qualify 5-3 on pp

Abu Dhabi, UAE
Egypt 3 (Ahmed Hassan 5′ 48′, Amr Gamal 90′)-Zambia 0

Nchanga Rangers 1(Felix Nyaende 12′)-Green Eagles 0

Konkola Blades 1(Eric Chisala 48′)-Lusaka Dynamos 0

Nkwazi 1(Chipungu Musukuma 41′)-Zanaco 1(Salulani Phiri 12′)

National Assembly 0-Forest Rangers 1(Innocent Mwaba 64′)

Red Arrows 1(Festus Mbewe 44′)-Green Buffaloes 0

Zesco United 3(Cletus Chota 47′,John Chingandu 90′,Winston Kalengo 90+3)-Power Dynamos 0

Nkana 0-Napsa Stars 1(Seith Sakala 70′)

Mufulira Wanderers 1(Eric Chibuye 2′)-Nakambala Leopards (Elijah Banda 14′)

After games played 09/10/2015

Winston Kalengo (Zesco):16

Jimmy Ndhlovu (Nkana):10

Adamson Mulao (Green Eagles): 9

Conlyde Luchanga (Lusaka Dynamos):8
Walter Bwalya (Nkana ):8
Jackson Mwanza (Zesco):8
Fred Tshimanga (Nkana):8

Cletus Chota (Zesco): 7
Festus Mbewe (Red Arrows):7

Mwape Mwelwa (Zesco) 6
Aubrey Funga (Zanaco):6
Fashion Sakala (Nchanga):6
Lottie Nyambili (Nkwazi):6

Salulani Phiri (Zanaco):5
Felix Nyaende (Nchanga):5
Eric Chibuye (Wanderers):5
Moses Phiri (Zanaco): 5
Thomas Kunda (Lusaka Dynamos):5
Happy Kaunda (Konkola Blades):5
Luka Lungu (Power Dynamos):5
Francis Kombe(Red Arrows):5

Musukuma Chipungu(Nkwazi):4
Mwila Phiri (Eagles):4
Lubinda Mundia(Red Arrows):4
Moses Nyambe (Wanderers):4
Junior Zulu(Nakambala):4
Simon Bwalya (Nkana):4
Emmanuel Banda (Nchanga):4
Stewart Chikandiwa(Nkwazi):4
Moses Lolozi (Mufulira Wanderers):4
Martin Phiri (Power Dynamos):4
Shadreck Mayembe (Napsa):4

Eric Chisala (Konkola Blades):3
Daniel Sibanda (Arrows):3
Logic Chingandu (Forest Rangers):3
Sebastain Mwansa (Green Buffaloes):3
Mathew Tembo(Green Eagles):3
Emmanuel Kasonde (Nkwazi):3
Gift Lukwesa (Nkwazi):3
Henry Banda (Zanaco):3
Friday Samu(Green Buffaloes):3
Mathews Macha(Zanaco):3
Roderick Kabwe (Zanaco):3
Lottie Phiri (Green Buffaloes):3
Shadreck Musonda (Nkana): 3
Mala Besa(Forest Rangers):3
Diamond Chikwekwe(Green Buffaloes):3
Peter Mwangani(National Assembly):3

[Read 32 times, 1 reads today]


  1. You shouldn’t have released the coach and key players to go shopping in Dubai at the expense of making history back home. Don’t repeat the same mistake again



Comments are closed.