Friday, April 12, 2024

WEEKEND SCORECARD: Numba Slams Zanaco’s Draw in Benin


Zanaco coach Mumamba Numba is not happy with Sundays’ 0-0 away draw in Benin against ESAE at Porto Novo.

The result left Zanaco still winless in the group stages of the 2019/20 CAF Confederation Cup but are also unbeaten from the knockout rounds where they won all four home and away fixtures.

Sunday’s draw also handed hosts ESAE their first 1 point at the league stage after losing their first two Group B matches.

“This is a game we would have won easily had we been responsible at goal. This is a game we dominated almost the entire 90 minutes but unfortunately we were not responsible enough to convert the chances we had especially in the first half. Otherwise on our part, it is not a good result,” Numba said.

“Football is about scoring and if you don’t score, then you don’t get a result. We came here for an outright win that would have put us in a better position to reach the quarterfinals.”

With three games left to play, Zanaco stay third in Group B on 3 points, one less than DC Motema Pembe of DR Congo and four points adrift of leaders RSB Berkane who beat the former 3-0 on Sunday in Morocco.

Zanaco must now beat ESAE on January 12 in Lusaka to enhance their chances, but most critically, before they host DCMP in their penultimate Group B match on January 26.

The top two finishers qualify to the quarterfinals.


-Estádio 11 de Novembro, Luanda
Premiero de Agosto 1(Mabululo 12′)-TP Mazembe 1(Rainford Kalaba 8′)
-Levy Mwanawasa Stadium, Ndola
Zesco United 1(Quadri Kola 81′)-Zamalek 1(Mostafa Abdalla 71′)

-Stade Charles de Gaulle, Porto-Novo
ESAE 0-Zanaco 0
-Stade Municipal de Berkane, Berkane
RSB Berkane 3(Alain Traore 29′, Zaid Krouch 41′, Hamdi Laachir 67′)-DC MOtema Pembe 0

Power Dynamos 1(Fredrick Mulambia 23′)-Napsa Stars 0

Lumwana Radiants 0-Green Buffaloes 1(Moonga Chilimba 84′)

Nakambala Leopards 1(Lameck Nyangu 90’pen)-Mufulira Wanderers 0

Kabwe Youth Soccer Academy 1(Maonga Kabuku 83′)-Green Eagles 6(Levy Zulu 19’og, Ronald Chibwe 21′,Kennedy Musonda 51′, Spencer Sautu 53rd,Andrew Kwiliko 75′, Shadreck Mulungwe 83′)

Kabwe Warriors 4(Winston Mhango 1′, Twiza Chaibela 12′,Jimmy Ndhlovu 67′,Akakulubelwa Mwachiaba 85′) -Lusaka Dynamos 2(Baba Basile 22′,Emmanuel Habasimbi 36′)

Forest Rangers 1(Cedric Djeugoue 45′)-Red Arrows 1(James Chamanga 90′)

Nkana 1(Shadreck Musonda 15’pen)-Nkwazi 0

-Levy Mwanawasa Stadium, Ndola
Buildcon-Zesco United
Zanaco-Kansanshi Dynamos

2019/2020 TOP SCORERS
Jesse Were (Zesco):10

Idris Mbombo(Nkana):9

James Chamanga(Red Arrows):8

Jimmy Ndhlovu(Kabwe Warriors):6
Babe Basile(Lusaka Dynamos):6
Bornwell Mwape (Napsa Stars):6
Daniel Chama (KYSA):6

Winston Kalengo (Zesco):5
Elias Maguri(Nakambala Leopards):5
Kennedy Musonda (Green Eagles):5
Fredrick Mulambia(Power Dynamos):5

Collins Sikombe (Napsa Stars) :4
Moses Phiri (Buildcon) :4
Emmanuel Manda(Lumwana Radiants):4
Adams Zikiru (Forest Rangers):4

Spencer Sautu(Green Eagles):3*
Shadreck Mulungwe (Green Eagles):3
Jamal Jefaru (Mufulira Wanderers):3
Chitiya Mususu(Zanaco):3
Laudit Mavugo (Napsa Stars) :3
Larry Bwalya(Power Dynamos):3
Royd Alfonso (Kansanshi Dynamos):3
Jeff Banda (Nkwazi):3*
Roger Kola (Zanaco):3
Martin Dzilah (Lumwana):3
Thabani Kamusoko(Zesco):3
Friday Samu (Green Buffaloes):3
Emmanuel Phiri (Kansanshi):3
Bruce Musakanya (Red Arrows):3
Chris Mugalu (Lusaka Dynamos):3
Eric Choomba(Nkwazi):3

Winstone Mhango(Kabwe Warriors):2
Moonga Chilimba (Buffaloes):2
Andrew Kwiliko (Green Eagles):2
Emmanuel Habasimbi(Lusaka Dynamos):2
Akakulubelwa Mwachiyaba(Kabwe Warriors):2
Laurent Muma (Forest Rangers):2
Benjamin Nenkavu(Buildcon):2
Quadri Kola (Zesco):2
Doisy Soko (Napsa Stars):2
Chanda Mushili(Buildcon):2
Tapson Kaseba (Green Eagles):2
Moro Ameru (KYSA):2
Chaniza Zulu(Lumwana):2
Willy Stephanus(Lusaka Dynamos):2
Moussa Lemisa(Lusaka Dynamos):2
Rahim Osumanu (Mufulira Wanderers) :2
Paul Simpemba (Green Buffaloes):2
Gozon Mutale(Green Eagles):2
Kelvin Mubanga(Nkana):2
Jack Chirwa (Green Buffaloes) :2
Anthony Akumu (Zesco United):2
Ronald Kampamba (Nkana):2
Danny Silavwe (Napsa Stars):2
Tafadzwa Rusike (Zanaco):2
Evans Musonda(Red Arrows):2
Patrick Ilongo(Forest Rangers):2
Junior Zulu(Nakambala):2
Charles Zulu (Zanaco):2
Alidor Kayembe(Buildcon):2
Biramahire Abeddy (Buildcon):2
Kwame Attrum (Mufulira Wanderers):2
Ian Sililo(KYSA):2

Shadreck Musonda(Nkana):1
Ronald Chibwe(Green Eagles):1
Cedric Djeugoue (Forest Rangers):1
Francis Simwanza(Red Arrows):1
Dave Daka (Power Dynamos):1
Luka Chamanga (Power Dynamos):1
Patrick Ngoma(Nakambala):1
Emmanuel Okutu(Zanaco):1
Musonda Siame(Lumwana):1
Wilford Sikanyika (Kansanshi):1
Nasha Kaya (Kansanshi):1
Richard Zulu (Lumwana):1
Hosea Silwimba (Green Eagles) :1
Mise Katende(Mufulira Wanderers) :1
Christian Ntouba (Power Dynamos) :1
Eric Kabulo (Buildcon) :1
Dominic Chanda(Kabwe Warriors):1
Felix Nyaende (Kabwe Warriors):1
Eddie Sinyangwe(Green Buffaloes):1
George Ngoma (Green Buffaloes):1
Stephen Kabamba(Green Buffaloes):1
Webster Muzaza (Forest Rangers):1′
Marvin Jere(Lusaka Dynamos):1
Clement Mwape (Zesco):1
Umaru Kasumba (Zesco):
Martin Kayuwa(Power Dynamos):1
Lazarus Zulu(Kansanshi):1
Peter Mwangani(Forest Rangers):1
Leonard Mulenga(Buffaloes):1
Felix Bulaya (Nakambala):1
Joseph Mwandilila(Green Eagles):1
Norbet Chisala (Kansanshi Dynamos):1
Chisenga Lukwemba(Nakambala):1
Tresor Ilunga(KYSA):1
Derrick Mwansa (Kabwe Warriors):1
Patrick Kasunga (Kabwe Warriors):1
Andrew Tololwa (Red Arrows): 1
Linos Makwaza Jnr(Power):1
Obeddy Masumbuko (Nkana):1
Thomas Banda(Napsa): 1
Davies Kamanga(Mufulira Wanderers):1
Simon Nkhata (Napsa Stars):1
Ali Sadiki(Kabwe Warriors):1
Benson Sakala(Power Dynamos):1
Isaac Ngoma (Kansanshi Dynamos):1
Enock Sabamukumana(Zesco):1
Erick Chomba (Nkwazi):1
John Ngoma(Nakambala):1
Simon Mulenga (Nkana):1
Isaac Shamujompa (Buildcon):1
Austin Banda(Napsa Stars):1
Harun Shakava (Nkana):1
Peter Mwaangani(Forest Rangers):1
Moussa Souleymanou (Zanaco):1
Luka Banda (Napsa):1
Mukuka Chewe (Lumwana):1*
Amity Shamande (Green Eagles):1
Twiza Chaibela (Kabwe Warriors):1
Lameck Nyangu (Nakambala Leopards):1
Maonga Kabuku (KYSA):1
Levy Zulu (KYSA):1*

*Denotes an own-goal

Amity Shamende (Green Eagles):5**

Tapson Kaseba (Green Eagles):3**
Ziyo Tembo (Zanaco):3
Roger Kola (Zanaco):3
Spencer Sautu (Green Eagles):3**
Guily Manziba (Zanaco):3
Kennedy Musonda(Green Eagles):3**

Jesse Were(Zesco United):2

Quadri Kola (Zesco):1
Charles Zulu (Zanaco):1
Winston Kalengo(Zesco):1
Moussa Souleymanou(Zanaco):1
Clement Mwape(Zesco):1
Ernest Mbewe (Zanaco):1
Damiano Kola(Zanaco):1
Emmanuel Okutu(Zanaco):1
Thabani Kamusoko(Zesco):1
Tafadzwa Rusike (Zanaco):1
Kayembe Alidor (Buildcon):1
Omaru Kasumba (Zesco United):1
John Chingandu (Zesco United):1
Shadreck Mulungwe (Green Eagles):1**
Edward Mwamba (Green Eagles):1
Boniface Sunzu (Green Eagles):1**
*Denotes one own goal

Read more

Local News

Discover more from Lusaka Times-Zambia's Leading Online News Site -

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading