The lineup for the Zambia 2017 Africa Youth Championship is complete but their will be no Nigeria or Ghana coming to Zambia for the tournament.

Defending champions and record seven-time winners Nigeria and Ghana, winners three times, both failed to qualifiy for the tournament after tumbling on the final hurdle.

Ghana beat Senegal 1-0 in July 22 but bowed out 3-2 on aggrgate.

Nigeria were beaten to a ticket to Lusaka by Sudan who qualified on away goals rule following a 5-5 aggregate result.

Nigeria won 2-1 away but lost 4-3 at home on July 23.

The roll of qualified teams has 2003 champions Egypt who beat 2001 winners Angola 1-0 at home and 4-0 away.

Also qualified are 1995 champions Cameroon, who had earlier beaten Libya 3-0 in the first leg as insurance that subsequently made up for the 1-0 away loss in the final leg.

1997 runners-up South Africa too are coming to Zambia, they beat Lesotho 2-0 away and 3-0 at home.

1979 runners-up Guinea are also through after a 0-0 away draw over Gambia before winning 2-1 in Conakry.

Mali, runners-up in 1989, complete the roll after a 2-0 home win to qualify by the same aggregate scoreline following a 0-0 draw in the first leg against Burkina Faso.

Zambia will host the Africa Youth Championship in Lusaka from February 26 to March 12.

The top three finishers will qualify to the 2017 FIFA Under-20 World Cup that South Korea will host later in May.

[Read 39 times, 1 reads today]


Comments are closed.