Midfielder Mwape Mwelwa will miss Zesco United’s 2016 CAF Champions League Group A penultimate clash away to Al Ahly this Friday.

Zesco depart for Cairo on Tuesday from Ndola.

Mwape is suspended for the match after receiving his second yellow on July 27 in Zesco’s 1-1 away draw against ASEC Mimosa of Cote d’ivoire in Abidjan following his initial caution in a 2-1 home win over Stade Malien on April 19.

However, midfielder Misheck Chaila is back after serving his suspension that saw him miss Zesco’s trip to ASEC while striker Idris Mbombo who missed the first leg meeting at home in Ndola against Al Ahly due to injury is in the travelling party.

Mbombo is Zesco’s top scorer in the Champions League with five goals.

Zesco beat Al Ahly 3-2 in the first leg meeting on June 18 at Levy Mwanawasa Stadium on match day one of the group round of games.

Zesco are 2nd in Group A level on 7 points with leaders Wydad Casablanca of Morocco whom they host in the final game on August 23 in Ndola.

Al Ahly, who are the record eight-time African champions, are 3rd on 4 points, level with bottom placed ASEC.


Goalkeepers: Jacob Banda, Lameck Nyangu

Defenders: Ben Banh, David Owino, Ayo Oluwafemi, Simon Silwimba, Dauti Musekwa, Bernard Mapili, Shemmy Mayembe

Midfielders: Anthony Agay, Misheck Chaila, Clatus Chama, Maybin Mwaba, John Chingandu, Kondwani Mtonga

Strikers: Jesse Were, Jackson Mwanza, Idris Mbombo, Lazarous Kambole

Forest Rangers 0- NAPSA Stars 0
Mufulira Blackpool 0- Mufulira Wanderers 0

Green Eagles 0-Nakambala Leopards 1(Venecious Mapande 10’pen)

Lusaka Tigers 0-Green Buffaloes 1(Jack Chirwa 66′)

Kabwe Warriors 0-Nkana 1(Jacob Ngulube 22′)

Nkwazi 0-Lumwana Radiants 0

Power Dynamos 2(Fwayo Tembo 12′, Patson Daka 59′)-Zanaco 1(Fashion Sakala 42′)


Nchanga Rangers 2(Simon Nkhata 9′, Anos Tembo 78’pen)-Lusaka Dynamos 2(Kennedy Musonda 26′, Webster Muzaza 71′)

Red Arrows-Zesco United

Madagascar 2017 CAF Under-17 Cup 2nd Round Qualifier
Nkoloma Stadium, Lusaka
Zambia 0-Sudan 0

After games played

Walter Bwalya (Nkana):13

Jesse Were (Zesco): 12

Seith Sakala (Zanaco): 8

Fashion Sakala(Zanaco):8
Steward Chikandiwa (Nkwazi):7
Fwayo Tembo(Power Dynamos):7

Josphat Kasusu(Kabwe Warriors):6
Justin Shonga (Nkwazi):6
Venecious Mapande (Nakambala):6

Jacob Ngulube(Nkana)5
Kennedy Mudenda (Power Dynamos):5
Martin Phiri(Power Dynamos):5
Ronald Chibwe (Forest):5
Felix Nyaende (Forest Rangers): 5
Jack Chirwa(Green Buffaloes):5

Kalaba Chikwanda (Nkwazi):4
Rahim Osumanu (Wanderers):4
Brian Mwila(Green Buffaloes):4
Aubrey Funga(Zanaco):4
Edward Mwamba (Nkwazi):4
Jacob Phiri(Kabwe Warriors):4
Roderick Kabwe (Zanaco):4
Isaac Chansa (Zanaco): 4
Simon Bwalya (Nkana):4
Ziyo Tembo (Zanaco):4
Meki Kabeya Mulume(Nchanga Rangers):4

Kennedy Musonda (Lusaka Dynamos):3
Claude Bwalya(Kabwe Warriors/Green Eagles): 3
Godfrey Ngwenya(Kabwe Warriors):3
Jackson Mwanza (Zesco):3
Cletus Chama (Zesco): 3
Martin Bwalya (Lusaka Tigers):3
Mathews Macha(Napsa Stars):3
Spencer Sautu(Green Eagles):3
Guily Manziba (Nkana):3
Christopher Katongo (Green Buffaloes):3
Joseph Kasongo (Wanderers):3
Patson Daka (Power Dynamos):3

[Read 38 times, 1 reads today]