9.5 C
Alba Iulia
Tuesday, July 7, 2020

27 African countries adopt the Marrakesh Declaration, thus forming a coalition for the Adaptation of African Agriculture to Climate Change ahead of COP22 negotiations

Headlines 27 African countries adopt the Marrakesh Declaration, thus forming a coalition for...


At the conclusion of the High-Level Meeting held in Marrakesh on September 30, 2016, around the initiative for the Adaptation of African Agriculture, 20 ministers and 27 delegations have adopted the Marrakesh Declaration, which consolidates these countries’ commitment to placing the Adaptation of African Agriculture at the heart of COP22 negotiations. The Declaration also endows the initiative with a concrete action plan. In all, 27 countries[1] have been represented during the Meeting, which has been attended by 300 participants.

The creation of a real coalition for the Adaptation of African Agriculture to Climate Change, ahead of COP22 and beyond
After two days of discussions among politicians, scientists, academics, private-sector leaders, and representatives from international organisations, the High-Level Meeting has concluded with the adoption of the Marrakesh Declaration. In all, 27 African countries have adopted the Declaration, marking the inception of a coalition that aims to place the Adaptation of African Agriculture at the heart of COP22 negotiations.

The AAA coalition is determined to respond to the high expectations pinned on COP22 – which will run from November 7 to 18 in Marrakesh – so as to make it the “COP of Action” and the “COP of Africa.”

A concrete action plan for AAA funding and implementation

The Marrakesh Declaration outlines the actions and objectives that the countries are committed to:

  • Endorse the principle of a larger, more effective and efficient public and private funding, as well as the principle of monitoring the funds disbursed for the Adaptation of African Agriculture, with an easier access to climate funds for African projects.
  • Contribute to actions and solutions through the Global Climate Action Agenda and any other related framework, highlighting African projects and good practices in such fields as soil management (including carbon storage in soils), agricultural-water control, climate-risk management, and funding small farmers, who constitute one of the most vulnerable groups, thereby facilitating access to research in agriculture;
  • Place agriculture at the heart of climate negotiations by emphasising a sustainable increase in productivity and agricultural earnings, while adapting and developing resilience to climate change;
  • Work towards building African capacities in terms of agricultural policies and programmes, and setting up and managing sustainable and climate-resilient agricultural projects.
The High-Level Meeting also marks the starting point of the “#WEAAARE” communications campaign, which aims to raise civil-society awareness and to mobilise the international community around the AAA initiative ahead of COP22.

[1] The 27 countries are: Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Senegal, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Togo.
[Read 105 times, 1 reads today]
- Advertisement -

Latest News

The Agriculture Sector Needs to be Revolutionalised-Margaret Mwanakatwe

Lusaka Central Member of Parliament Margaret Mwanakatwe says the agriculture sector needs to be revolutionalised in a bid to...

Youths conducting illegal Mining in Luanshya demand to be addressed by their MP

Roan Member of parliament Honourable Joseph Chishala yesterday afternoon was ambushed by Youths in his constituency doing some illegal mining at CNMC Luanshya Copper...

Monze Engineered UPND Anarchy Calculated to Incite Ethnic Chaos by Provoking Presidential Convoy

By Bizwell Mutale The reckless talk and provocative behaviour by Hon Jack Mwiimbu resulting in UPND cadres attempting to stone and embarrass the Head of...

Garry Nkombo warns Foreign Affairs Minister and Lusaka Province Minister, Stop destabilizing UPND

United Party for National Development (UPND) Elections Chairperson, Garry Nkombo, has warned Foreign Affairs Minister, Joseph Malanji and Lusaka Province Minister, Bowman Lusambo to...

Leadership cults in Africa and Zambia in particular

Former Zairean President Marshal Mobutu Sese Seko Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga once told a Western journalist that they should never expect their kind...

More Articles In This Category

- Advertisement -
[Read 25 times, 1 reads today]